Westbam Bio

WESTBAM PROFIL BW

DJ number one, pioneer of DJ culture, “Practising Maniac at Work”, prophet of raving society, composer of hymns for millions, party maker for over 15 million guests over the last 30 years, philosopher of dance culture, author and media personality—Westbam is a living legend and one of the most vibrant personalities of the international music scene.

Westbam was often the first. DJing since 1983, he was the first DJ in Germany who didn’t just play record after record but instead mixed them together and thus turned mixing into a cult. He was the first and only German DJ who was invited to play the big stages in the heyday of acid house in the UK. With his mix of 2 Live Crews “We Want Some Pussy” he was the first German remixer who sold over 2 million vinyl records. As the founder of Low Spirit he was responsible for the first and for a long time most successful label for underground dance music in Berlin. He was the first and to date only DJ who, as part of the cultural programme in Seoul 1988, was booked to participate in the Olympic Games. He is also the founder of the first big rave event in Germany, the legendary Mayday, and the only DJ who DJed at every Loveparade and produced every Loveparade anthem since. Tracks like “Celebration Generation”, “Wizard of the Sonic” and many more became hymns for the new and emerging techno movement in the 90ies; later he went on to establish Technolectro with “Electric Kingdom”.

WESTBAM UP 1

“Sonic Empire” became his first number one chart hit, being a pure Technolectro track without any vocals. Westbam has always been a philosopher and a pioneer of the scene and published the book “Mixes, Cuts & Scratches”, which he wrote together with Rainald Goetz, in 1997. For already 25 years now, he is the DJ-producer with the biggest and most continuous output in the scene, with an impressing oeuvre of more than 150 singles and 8 full lengths—this enabled him to reach a status where his works, while at the same time being diverse, can be identified as 100% Westbam. What is particularly remarkable in the often fast-paced world of electronic music, is the fact that Westbam—with dance tracks like “Beatbox Rocker”—managed to create songs which are not only popular for a moment but outlast decades and can be regarded as real classics.

WESTBAM BÄM 1

2013 gelang ihm mit seinem Album Götterstrasse ein weiterer ganz großer Wurf. Er kombinierte den typischen Westbam Sound mit den Stimmen von Legenden aus 4 Jahrzehnten Musikgeschichte und schuf eine Hommage an die Nacht und das Nachtleben. Mitgewirkt haben so prominente Namen wie Iggy Pop, Kanye West, Lil Wayne, Bernard Sumners (New Order) Brian Molko (Placebo), Inga Humpe (2raumwohnung)  – die LP landete bis auf Platz 12 der deutschen Verkaufscharts, die bisher beste Westbam LP Platzierung aller Zeiten.

Another great success came with his Album Götterstraße in 2013. For this record he combined the typical Westbam sound with the voices of music legends from four decades of music history and created a tribute to the night and nightlife. Renowned artists like Iggy Pop, Kanye West, Lil Wayne, Bernard Sumners (New Order), Brian Molko (Placebo) and Inga Humpe (2raumwohnung) participated in this project, helping that the LP made it to rank 12 of the German charts, which is Westbam’s highest position for an LP to date.

In 2015 Westbam is even more popular than ever before. The announcement of his withdrawal from Mayday, which he accused of lacking the will to be musically innovative, made it into national TV news and German news magazine Spiegel TV produced a half-hour special about his japan tour. Westbam is still playing the most important festivals in Germany, Eastern Europe, Russia and Japan and is still master of the big dance floors. Quite often, his club gigs are a promoter’s annual highlight.

maxrave_contentbild

To mark his 50th birthday he’s launching a whole new series of events: Maxrave. This move follows Mayday last year, when he cut ties with German promoter i-motion due to differences of opinion. His biography, “Die Macht der Nacht [The Power of Night]”, will be published in March 2015 – and summer will see the release of his new album, which he produces together with his new studio mate Hardy Hard. Again this year there are guest appearances in Japan, Russia, the Baltic states in the pipeline. Not to mention various festivals!

Westbam-Buchcover_500px

In 2015, Westbam appeared on several talk shows following the publishing of his frequently discussed biography „Macht der Nacht“ (Mighty night). On the 25th anniversary of the German reunification, three TV specials about him were aired, in part simultaneously. Furthermore in 2015 Westbam launched a new event series called “Maxrave”. In 2016 his main focus lies on music. A new album will be released in fall and he will be playing gigs in Poland, the Baltic States, the UK, Ireland, and Belgium. In the fall of 2016, Westbam will also go on a big album release tour in Germany.

 

Download Bio and Photos / Logos

More Infos

www.westbam.de

www.fb.com/westbam

Westbam Bio

WESTBAM PROFIL BW

DJ Number One, Pionier der DJ Kultur, „Practising Maniac at Work“, Prophet der Raving Society, Hymnenschreiber für Millionen, Partymaker für über 15 Millionen Gäste in den letzten 30 Jahren, Philosoph der Dancekultur, Autor und Media-Personality – Westbam ist eine lebende Legende und eine der schillernsten Persönlichkeiten der internationalen Musikszene.

Sehr oft war Westbam ganz vorne und der erste. Er war der erste DJ Deutschlands, der mit seit 1983 auflegte  und Platten nicht nur aneinanderreihte, sondern mixte und daraus einen Kult machte. Er war der erste und einzige deutsche DJ der in der Blütezeit des Acid House Zeitalters nach England auf die großen Raves gebucht wurde. Er war der erste deutsche Remixer der mit seinem 2 Live Crew Mix von „We love Some Pussy“ über 2 Millionen Vinylscheiben verkaufte. Er war mit Low Spirit der Gründer des ersten und des seinerzeit erfolgreichsten Labels für Underground Dance Musik in Berlin. Er war der erste und bisher einzige deutsche DJ, der als Kulturbeitrag für die Olympischen Spiele 1988 nach Seoul gebucht wurde. Er war Gründer des ersten deutschen Großraves Mayday, er war der einzige DJ der von der ersten bis zur letzten Loveparade auf allen Paraden auflegte und alle Love Parade Hymnen produzierte. In den 90ies wurden seine Tracks „Celebration Generation“, „Wizard of the Sonic“ und viele andere die Hymnen zur damals neuen und aufstrebenden Technobewegung, später etablierte er mit Technolectro „Electric Kingdom“

WESTBAM UP 1

Mit „Sonic Empire“ hatte er den ersten Media Control Nummer 1 Hit, der ein reiner Technolectro-Track ohne Vocals war. Westbam war immer Philosoph und Vordenker der Szene. So veröffentlichte er in Zusammenarbeit mit Rainald Goetz 1997 als erster DJ das Buch „Mixes, Cuts & Scratches“. Seit nunmehr über 25 Jahren ist er der DJ-Produzent mit dem größten und kontinuierlichsten Output der Szene mit einem beeindruckenden Gesamtwerk von weit über 150 Singles und  8 Alben und hat sich als DJ und Producer einen Status erschaffen, dass man seine Produktionen, so unterschiedlich sie auch sein mögen, immer als 100% Westbam identifiziert. Besonders beachtlich im Bereich der oft kurzlebigen elektronischen Musik ist die Tatsache, dass Westbam es mit vielen seiner Tracks wie z.B. „Beatbox Rocker“ geschafft hat, Dancetracks zu kreiieren, die nicht nur für den Moment groß sind, sondern die Jahrzehnte überdauern und zu den echten Klassikern gerechnet werden können.

WESTBAM BÄM 1

2013 gelang ihm mit seinem Album Götterstrasse ein weiterer ganz großer Wurf. Er kombinierte den typischen Westbam Sound mit den Stimmen von Legenden aus 4 Jahrzehnten Musikgeschichte und schuf eine Hommage an die Nacht und das Nachtleben. Mitgewirkt haben so prominente Namen wie Iggy Pop, Kanye West, Lil Wayne, Bernard Sumners (New Order) Brian Molko (Placebo), Inga Humpe (2raumwohnung)  – die LP landete bis auf Platz 12 der deutschen Verkaufscharts, die bisher beste Westbam LP Platzierung aller Zeiten.

2015 ist Westbam so gefragt wie nie zuvor. Spiegel TV berichtete in einem halbstündigen Special über seine Japantour. Seine Rücktrittserklärung von der Mayday, der er mangelnde musikalische Innovation vorwarf, war Thema in den nationalen TV  Nachrichten. Westbam spielt nach wie vor auf den wichtigsten Festivals Deutschlands, Osteuropas, Russlands und Japans und ist nach wie vor der Chefrocker großer Dancefloors. Seine Clubgigs sind nicht selten das jährliche Highlight der Veranstalter.

maxrave_contentbild

Zu seinem 50. Geburtstag veranstaltet er erstmals wieder einen neue, eigene Veranstaltung: den Maxrave. Zeitgleich erscheint seine Biographie „Die Macht der Nacht“ im Ullstein Verlag. Mit seinem neuen Produktionspartner Hardy Hard produziert er derzeit seine neue LP. Sein Tourkalender hat 2015 Gigs in Russland, Japan, dem Baltikum, UK, Irland und natürlich auf vielen Festivals.

Westbam-Buchcover_500px

2015 erschien seine vieldiskutierte Biographie „Macht der Nacht“ und er trat in vielen Talkshows auf. Am 25. Jahrestag der deutschen Einheit gab es über ihn gleich drei TV Specials über ihn gab, die teilweise zeitgleich ausgestrahlt wurden. Darüberhinaus launchte er 2015 ein neues Veranstaltungsformat – den Maxrave.

2016 liegt sein Fokus mehr denn je auf der Musik. Im September wird sein nächstes Album erscheinen. Neben Gigs in Polen, dem Baltikum, UK, Irland, Belgien wird er im Herbst 2016 eine große Deutschlandtour zum Album Release feiern.

Download Bio und Fotos / Logos

Mehr Infos

www.westbam.de

www.fb.com/westbam